PRO STAFF/INSTRUCTOR SPOTLIGHT: Learn more about Archery Instructor Debi Martin

Pro Staff / Instructor Spotlight:  We asked Debi Martin a few fun questions. Pro Staff / Instructor Spotlight is designed to help you get to know our awesome team of Pro Staff / Instructors a little better. Debi lives in Mississippi and is an avid competitive shooter, hunter and archery instructor with SLG.


If you could only hunt in one season which one would it be?
Big Game 
What’s your favorite location to hunt? 
At home in Mississippi
Who introduced you to hunting?
My Dad. 
What do you hunt for?
Whitetail, squirrel, rabbit, duck, turkey, dove, alligator, predator, bear and moose.  Pretty much anything in season and anywhere we have to opportunity to hunt.   
What hunting skill would you like to master?
I would love to learn to shoot a recurve bow. I am so envious of the skill and dedication that it takes to hunt with a recurve.   
What’s your biggest hunting challenge?
I strive to make clean and ethical shots with my bow.  I shoot competitively in the off season and I find this has helped me become a more skilled archer.  
What would be the most amazing hunting adventure that is still on your bucket list?
I would love to hunt elk with my husband in Colorado.  Brad and I both have traveled a lot of places to hunt, but we’ve yet to go to Colorado together.      
What hunting skill do you wish you knew more about?
I have learned a lot about aging deer over the last few years.  This helps me to insure I harvest a mature deer.  I would like to continue to do so and teach others about deer management.  
What’s the hardest hunting lesson you’ve learned? 
Things don’t always work out and sometimes it just isn’t your day.  That’s why they call it hunting and not killing.  
If hunting was no longer an option for you what would you do with your time?
Traveling shooting competitive archery on an international level.    
What could you give a 40-minute presentation on with absolutely no preparation?
I would have to say something to do with archery.  I love talking with people about archery and the whole shot process.  Regardless if it is hunting or competing, I always have plenty to talk about.   
How many pairs of hunting boots do you own?
Five.  Two hiking, two rubber (insulated and non-insulated) and one snake. 
What style of hunting are you most passionate about?
Archery hunting is my favorite.  I even like to bowfish.   
NON – HUNTING RELATED 
What do you like most about the SLG shooting trailer?
Getting to introduce archery to someone that has never shot before. Seeing the look on their faces after making the first shot makes my heart happy. Having those ladies give us feedback and tell us about their bow purchase and personal accomplishments is worth more to me than a pot of gold.    
If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
Practice on the range and spend more time with my family.  
What hobby would you get into if time and money weren’t an issue?
I would have an indoor range built and shoot dots all day long. 
What non hunting related skill would you like to master?
I would like to learn to speak French.  
What non hunting related. do you wish you knew more about?
I would like to learn to play the piano again.  I took lessons as a child, but I don’t remember how to read the music.  I am so drawn to any music with a strong presence of the piano.  
What are you interested in that most people haven’t heard of?
I love photography.  I like to take pictures of landscapes and sunsets.  They to me are the most natural.  I feel like its Gods masterpiece that he allows us to capture.  
What’s the farthest you’ve ever been from home?
Newfoundland Canada
Where do you usually go when you when you have time off?
Time off??? What’s that??? 
Who inspires you to be better?
My husband.  He is the kindest person, next to my late father, that I have ever known.  He tries to find the good in everyone and doesn’t let bad things get to him.  
What are three interesting facts about you?
Green is my favorite color. 
I used to team rope. 
I love all genres of music.  From gospel to rap, you never know what I am going to be listening to. 
What is your biggest fear?
SPIDERS!!!! True story!!
If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?
Anything with bread.  I love bread!
List two pet peeves
Smacking and when someone says pacific instead of specific.  
Which of the five senses would you say is your strongest?
Hearing.  My friend calls me “Tune in Tokyo”
One thing that not a lot of people know you love to do?
Stay at home from time to time. It is such a rare event, that most people would think I don’t like to do it.  
Mountains or Beach?
Both…. The best of both worlds!!
Anything else you would like to add? 
Never miss an opportunity to make a difference in someone’s life.  A few kind words can change a life in the blink of an eye.   

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 

Shoot Like A Girl is an organization that empowers women in the hunting and shooting industries.

FOLLOW US ON

Instagram

Get the latest news and offers from Shoot Like A Girl! Sign up for our email newsletter.


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Shoot Like A Girl, P.O. Box 1211, Athens, AL, 35612, http://www.shootlikeagirl.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact